Writing process tag thingy

Standard

What am I working on at the moment?

In theory, I’ve got four writing projects going on right now:
– Glimmerlands
– This illustrated childrens’ story thing about schizophrenia (wordless)
– Revisited fairy tale parodies (French)
– Writing challenge by my bf that ended up inspiring me. I had to write a sci-fi from the POV of a cat, containing an unpredictable character that knows it’s a story character. (French)

In practise, I’m pretty much blocked on the Glimmerlands and fairy tale projects, the wordless illustrated one being my current passion. And it’s nearly summer. I want to spend all my time playing guitar in the park.

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

I dunno, I’m the one writing it? I honestly have no idea. I think being bilingual means I take a certain care over the meanings of words, and how they might translate. I already have the French name for the Glimmerlands. I tend to spend ages naming characters because I want the meaning AND the sound of the name to be relevant. Other than that, I’m still finding my own style. I tend to concentrate on creating realistic characters to go in fantastic worlds. If you find my characters unrealistic, or my descriptions flat, let me know.

Why do I write what I do?

I can’t help it. Writing is a bit like a drug for me; I can’t not do it. Writer’s block is the worst thing ever.

Other than that, though, I would like to change the way my readers think. Even just temporarily, I’d like to inspire them, make them feel, make them think, put them in someone else’s skin, let them see a different world, change the way they see ours. That’s why I write for others.

How does my writing process work?

Very good question. Erratically, seems to be the answer. It has a will of its own and is mostly unpredictable. Reacts badly to pressure except on those occasions when it doesn’t.

The following people inspire me:

ChezNanoyo – My partner in life and in crime. Also a pretty good writer. Far more productive than I am, types too fast for me to compete with, writes exclusively in French but changes genres as often as socks.

InconsistentlyYours – Has taught me a lot about living with Borderline Personality Disorder. She does YouTube videos about it the way I do about depression, and is so incredibly open and honest that I can’t help but admire her.

PritiShikotra – Music and wedding photographer, traveller, friend since primary school and one of the most positive people I’ve ever met.

Glosswatch – Feminist blogger. Explains complicated things so that people like me can understand them.

Zen|Xen – Writer, editor, incredibly interesting person. Very useful writing tips mixed with fascinating anecdotes, all brilliantly written, of course.

TheyCallMeMummy – Because although I no longer work in childcare, it still interests me as a subject, especially when told in humour.

I’m certain I’ve forgotten someone. Never mind.

Leave a Reply

